How Does GA Handle Accidents with Driver Permits?
Causing a motor vehicle accident or playing a role in causing one can have serious consequences. However, the severity of those consequences can vary depending on if you are a licensed driver, a driver with a suspended license or no license at all, or a permitted driver. Permitted drivers are only allowed to drive with a licensed driver over the age of 21. If a permitted driver hit you and wasn't following the law, they could be subject to penalties under Georgia law. An experienced Dawsonville car accident attorney can also help you pursue a civil claim to compensate for your losses.
Who is Liable When a Permitted Driver Causes an Accident in GA?
A Georgia Instructional Permit can be granted to 15-year-olds who successfully pass the written driving exam. Drivers who obtain a permit must be with a passenger at least 21 years of age and has a valid Class C driver's license while behind the wheel. These unique circumstances beg the question: who is liable if a driver who only has their permit causes an accident?
Typically, the permitted driver is covered under their parent's or other car owner's insurance policy. As long as they were given permission to drive the vehicle and it is insured, there shouldn't be a problem collecting against the insurance policy. Since they are legally required to be with another licensed driver and are minors, they aren't required to carry their own insurance policy.
Parents or those who will frequently be accompanying a permitted driver may want to check with their insurance company to find out if they need to add them to their insurance policy. In some situations, parents can be held liable for the negligent actions of their teen drivers who are driving on a permit.
Car accidents are often complicated events involving many parties and insurance companies. If you get hit by someone who doesn't have a driver's license but only a permit, it can further complicate the matter. Your best course of action is to contact a Dawsonville car accident attorney as soon as possible.
Statute of Limitations for Filing Claims
Even when you are hit by a teen or permitted driver, a deadline for filing a claim still applies. This deadline is known as the statute of limitations and is generally two years from the date of your accident. When you hire a seasoned Dawsonville car accident lawyer, they will understand what statute of limitations applies to your specific case and, if the case fails to settle within that time frame, ensure that it is filed prior to the deadline.
Did a Permitted Driver Cause Your Accident? Call a Skilled Dawsonville Car Accident Lawyer Today
At Banks, Stubbs & McFarland, our Dawsonville car accident attorneys have been serving area residents since 1991. We take on simple and complex car accident cases. Our team isn't afraid to stand up to large insurance companies so that you can receive the compensation you are entitled to receive for your injuries. Call our office today at (770) 887-1209 or contact us online to schedule your no-obligation confidential car accident case review.