What Are The Penalties for Driving Without Insurance?

Nearly every state requires all drivers to carry auto insurance. If you get caught driving without valid auto insurance in Georgia, your license and registration will be suspended, you’ll need to pay fines and may face jail time. If you’re currently uninsured, it’s in your best interest to purchase coverage right now or else face the harsh consequences. While auto insurance may seem expensive, the penalties for violating the state’s insurance rules are more costly.

Here’s what you should know about auto insurance rules and the penalties you may face if you are caught driving without insurance in Georgia.

What You Need to Know About Auto Insurance Requirements in Georgia

Individuals who own or rent motor vehicles in Georgia must have the proper auto insurance coverage:

  • $50,000 per accident of bodily injury liability coverage
  • $25,000 per individual of bodily injury liability coverage
  • $25,000 per accident of property damage liability coverage

Auto insurance coverage is also legally required to register your vehicle and acquire, replace, or renew your license plate.

You must also maintain your coverage and not allow it to lapse. Otherwise, you face a fine and lapse penalty. It’s vital to note that auto insurance providers are legally obligated to notify the DMV about deletions, additions, or terminations of auto insurance policies, which means it will know if you don’t have an active insurance policy. You only have 30 days to provide the DMV with proof of auto insurance if your insurance has lapsed and you’re renewing it. Otherwise, you will receive a notice of suspension, and the DMV will suspend your vehicle registration.

Furthermore, it is good practice to have your auto insurance card with you while driving the vehicle. Besides serving as proof of insurance coverage, your insurance card will also be required to exchange insurance details if you get into an accident and when traveling in states that might not recognize the Georgia database. If you get pulled over or get into an accident and you don’t have your card with you, you may face difficulty in handling the situation which otherwise should be routine.

Potential Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Georgia

You will face a misdemeanor charge that will stay on your permanent record if you drive without auto insurance. You will also need to go to court and pay a $200 to $1,000 fine. On top of these penalties, you will also face a license suspension of 60 up to 90 days and vehicle registration suspension. Jail time not exceeding 12 months, lengthier suspension sentences, and costlier fines are typically imposed on repeat offenders.

You should likewise know that it is a crime to drive while your vehicle registration is canceled, suspended, or revoked, and this may lead to your vehicle being impounded. Additionally, you may face additional penalties if you are convicted of driving with a canceled or suspended vehicle registration including a license suspension. If your vehicle is being repaired or inoperable, you should cancel your registration first before you cancel your insurance coverage to avoid extra penalties.

Reach Out to Our Cumming Criminal Defense Lawyers Today

Did you get caught driving without auto insurance? The Cumming criminal defense lawyers at Banks, Stubbs & McFarland are here to help. Dial 770-887-1209 or contact us online to schedule your appointment with our Cumming criminal defense lawyers.