Georgia Teen Driving Accident Attorney

Being in a car accident is stressful enough, and when it is with a teenage driver, you may be left with more questions than answers following the accident. Teenagers may not be the most experienced drivers on the road and may not always know what to do following an accident. If you suffered injuries, the financial recovery process can be more difficult when dealing with an inexperienced teen driver and their insurer. Having a Forsyth County car accident attorney on your side will help you in seeking the ideal outcome in your case.

Teen Drivers Experience High Fatalities in Car Crashes

Teen drivers are in accidents more often than drivers of other ages in many situations. According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), motor vehicle crashes are the second-leading cause of death for teens in the United States. In the U.S. in a recent year, some 2,400 teens aged 13-19 were killed in motor vehicle crashes, while another 258,000 teens were treated in emergency departments for injuries from motor vehicle crashes. This does not even account for injuries that teen drivers cause to others.

Common Causes of Accidents for Teenage Drivers

The risk of crashing for newly-licensed teens is the highest during the first months of them getting their license, with 16-year-olds having a crash rate that is 150 percent higher than that of 18 to 19-year-olds, according to the CDC. When there are passengers in the vehicle of a teenage driver, the chances of being involved in an accident are also significantly higher. With each additional teenage passenger, the risk of a motor vehicle crash increases.

Other common causes of teen driving include:

Being in a car accident can be a result of a great many causes, and when another driver was violating the rules of the road, the driver should be liable, no matter their age or experience behind the wheel.

Driver Training in Georgia under “Joshua’s Law”

In the state of Georgia, teenage drivers aged 16 to 17 are required under “Joshua’s Law” to complete an approved driver education course in addition to a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, of which six hours have to be at night. A parent or guardian must sign a sworn verification that these driving requirements have been met. Drivers in Georgia must undergo this training to help ensure their safety on the road and the safety of others.

Reach out to a Cumming Teen Driving Accident Attorney Today

Teen drivers can be distraught and stressed following an accident, but this does not affect your right to compensation for the injuries and losses you sustained. An experienced car accident lawyer can help you pursue compensation from the insurance coverage of the teen, which is usually their parents’ policy. Connect with Banks, Stubbs, and McFarland to schedule a consultation to discuss your case now.